Photography. A hobby or a passion?

 
So how did Chris Ptaszenski Photography come about? Well hold onto your seats! I am about to explain….. I will make it quick and painless! I think…

It all started a few years back when I purchased a new point and shoot camera, and I thought it was amazing! It could do everything (or so I thought). It could change colors, the zoom seemed much better and it captured those ‘candid’ moments. I thought I took some of the most amazing pictures ever! Pictures of the sunset, pictures of my amazing daughter Violet Rae and even of my animals. That’s right, I said it. My animals. I had to include our adopted cat Tess in our photos below or Violet would be upset. As we all may or may not know, these cameras are good for traditional personal use such as capturing those crazy funny nights, those trips to Disney with the family, or just your average 200 pictures a day of your newborn baby. For those of you with children, you know the 200 is no exaggeration! Has anyone ever printed every digital print they have taken? Food for thought…

What I didn’t know is I was in for a rude awaking.

Almost a year ago, I purchased a new Nikon D series camera for personal use. Although the overall cost of owning a high end Nikon DSLR camera was significantly more, I was up for the challenge of ‘amateur photography’. As I first started to use the Nikon DSLR camera, I began to realize how much I began to appreciate architect, museums and even landscape. Things in pictures began to ‘pop’, colors became brighter and I became addicted to the art of photography. I started to look at all aspects of the picture, not just the focal points. I began to take pictures of the most random objects; fireworks, boats, my cat, a monkey made out of balloons, flowers and in case you were wondering, I can explain the monkey out of balloons. You will see in a bit. I became addicted to taking pictures, I always brought my camera with me to cookouts and even took about 400 pictures of a 20 minute firework display! As I said before, I became addicted! As time went on, I became more and more obsessed with photography. I would stop in Boston on my way home from work just to catch the sunset on the Charles. I would drive to Newport to catch pictures of the beautiful landscape and boats. I wanted to capture every moment of everyday. As you will see in a later blog, just this past week I drove around the city of New Bedford from Fort Tabor to Sassaquin just to capture all of the different aspects of the city. For those of you who are familiar with New Bedford, you would understand.

Well, I wanted to post my first blog! Even though this needs to be “tidied up” I wanted to see how it posts. I believe I can go back and edit, right? I guess only time will tell!

Hopefully from here on out, the blogs get better! Over the next few weeks I have a few sessions lined up. They range from modeling and fashion shoots, to family portraits, business photos and kids shoots (Amaya and Diego!).

Well, the first blog is under the belt… Here are some of the beginner pics I took on my camera. More experienced ones to come soon.

Upcoming blogs:

  1. Tour of Spain
  2. Tour of ‘New Beige’
  3. Bermuda Bronze

San Francisco, Ca

Fort Phoenix, Fairhaven, Ma

 

Jones Beach, Dartmouth, Ma

Boston, Ma

New Bedford, Ma

Summer Cookout

Boston, Ma (The one and only Miss Vi!)

Boston Harbor, Boston, Ma

Tess (our adopted cat!)

 
Leave a Reply

